Atal Bihari Vajpaye conferred with Bharat Ratan

The former Prime Minister of India,  Atal Bihari Vajpayee who is a great leader with beautiful heart has been awarded with the country’s most prestigious award, Bharat Ratan.

The President of India Pranab Mukherjee gave the award specially to Atal Bihari Vajpayee at his residence on 6 Krisha Menon Road in New Delhi. Vice President Hamid Ansari and Prime Minister Narendra Modi were also present in the ceremony. Narendra Modi also praised the President as he went to former Prime Minister’s residence to present the award himself.

atal vihar vajpayee conferred bharat ratan

Vajpayee was the first non-congress Indian Prime Minister who served full five years of tenure from 1994-2004. Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley congratulated Atal Bihari Vajpayee and expressed their gratitude towards him.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee was born on 25 December 1924 in Gwalior to Krishna Devi and Krishna Bihari Vajpayee in a Brahmin family and was the eleventh Prime Minister of independent India. He became Prime Minister first time in 1996 but for 13 days only and next time from 1999 to 2004.

The office of President of India announced his name for Bharat Ratan award on 25 December 2014 and his birthday was declared and celebrated as “Good Governance Day”.

Vajpayee has become the seventh Indian Prime Minister receiving the Bharat Ratan.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s health problems are the major concerns now a days. In 2001, he underwent knee replacement surgery at Breach Candy Hospital in Mumbai. In 2009 he got a stroke which affected his speech. He is now mostly confined to a wheelchair and is not seen in public much. He is suffering with diabetes and dementia and fails to recognize people often.

List of Prime Ministers awarded with Bharat Ratan award

  • Jawahal Lal Nehru
  • Indira Gandhi
  • Rajiv Gandhi
  • Morarji Desai
  • Lal Bahadur Shastri
  • Guljari Lal Nanda
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Did you like the Post?


Atal Bihari Vajpayee is the seventh prime minister of India who has received Bharat Ratan. He was the eleventh prime minister of India.

User Rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014 Omilights. All rights reserved